Every two years the Chapter gives awards to outstanding projects, people, and organizations for exemplary achievement in the planning field. The next awards ceremony will be held in 2020. A list of the 2018 awardees is below. Visit this link for a list of past of awards and awardees. 

An awards committee solicits nominations for awards, selects a jury to review entrees, and organizes a biennial event. In addition, the President (with approval of the Board) may confer awards upon members who have made outstanding contributions to the Chapter or the planning profession.

2018 Chapter Awards

Award Project / Program Person / Organization
Award for an Outstanding Plan Bethesda Downtown Plan Montgomery County Planning Department
Award for an Outstanding Plan 2017-2021 Community Sustainability Plan City of Hyattsville, MD
Award for an Outstanding Implemented Project, Program or Tool Western Rosslyn Area Plan and Implementation Arlington County
Harold Foster Award for Distinction in Community Outreach and Engagement Veirs Mill Corridor Master Plan Engagement Strategies for Hard-To-Reach Communities Montgomery County Planning Department
Distinguished Leadership Award for an Elected Official or Citizen Planner Nancy Floreen, Montgomery County Councilperson
Frederick Gutheim Award for Distinguished Leadership in Planning Banneker Park Pedestrian Access Improvements National Capital Planning Commission
Frederick Gutheim Award for Distinguished Leadership in Planning National Capital Region, National Park Service, Paved Trails Study National Park Service / AECOM
Award for Outstanding Firm Contribution to the Region VHB Crystal City to Ronald Reagan National Airport Pedestrian Connection Feasibility Study

Past NCAC Awards