Call for Nominations

Are you or someone you know looking to make a difference in the planning field and want to get involved in the local planning community and distinguish yourself as a leader? Nominations are being accepted until Nov. 27 for the Board position of President-Elect. This is a volunteer role that will serve on the Board for the 2024 calendar year, assisting the current Board President with leading an organization of the region's 900+ professional planners. This role also will automatically assume the position of Chapter President for the 2025-2026 two-year term.

Nominations and self-nominations can be submitted to Scott Rowe, AICP, President, at no later than Monday, November 27. Online elections for this position will be held in early December.

2023-2024 Board Election Results

Thank you to all who voted for your peers in December 2022 to elect a new executive board for 2023-2024. The position of President-Elect remains vacant until the Chapter holds a special election. Scroll down to see the results!

Board Responsibilities

The 22-member board is responsible for organizing NCAC-sponsored events. Past events included local planning conferences, panel discussions, award ceremonies, social events, volunteer opportunities, and AICP-related classes. The board also promotes planning in the community and encourages professional development within the industry.

Board members serve for two years, attend monthly board meetings to conduct the business of the Chapter, lead and participate in Committees, facilitate events, and participate in various chapter activities. Current members were elected in December 2022 and terms run through December 2024. Click here for a description of each Board position.

2023-2024 Executive Board

Position Board Member
President Scott Rowe, AICP
President-Elect Ras Tafari Cannady II, AICP
Past President Jeremy Hurlbutt, AICP
Professional Development Officer Xavier Williams, AICP
Professional Development Officer-Elect Marc Lewis-DeGrace, AICP
Vice President for Communications Sarah Benton, AICP
Vice President of Diversity & Outreach Sam Braden IV
Vice President of Membership Melissa Lindsjo, AICP, CNU-A
Secretary Jeff Peel, AICP
Treasurer Tony LaColla, AICP
At-Large Director Kayla Gail Anthony, AICP
At-Large Director Jaime Fearer, AICP
At-Large Director Elizabeth Halpin, AICP
At-Large Director Jill Schreifer, AICP, PMP
At-Large Director Chris Berger, AICP
At-Large Director Anna Smith, AICP Candidate
Faculty Representative - George Washington University Andrew Bernish, AICP, GISP
Faculty Representative - Georgetown University Uwe Brandes
Faculty Representative - University of Maryland Clara E Irazábal Zurita, Arch., M.Sc., M.Arch., Ph.D.
Student Representatives - George Washington University Michael Shenk
Student Representatives - Georgetown University Frantz Pierre
Student Representative - University of Maryland Emmanuelle Provolo